top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnastasia Smith

Fairy Tale Tunic

Updated: Oct 20, 2022

Fairy Tale Tunic Crochet Pattern




Click HERE to download the pattern from Ravelry.



The Fairy Tale Tunic was designed to provide a chic transitional piece! You can style it for any season. Using a mixture of Triple Crochet Stitches, & Single Crochet Stitches to give you a beautiful textured piece. This pattern is at a Beginner Level to construct, & the pattern also provides step by step photo tutorials to help you along the way. Plus did I mention...it works up super fast! What could be better?




Inspiration for the Design:


The inspiration for this design was to create a chic transitional piece that looked uniquely beautiful & only takes you a couple of days to make. While also providing a size inclusive pattern that is modern yet comfortable for any body type.




The Yarn


I had the absolute honor to test out Lion Brand yarn "Comfy Cotton Blend" in Silver Lining. I wanted a yarn that would work up very quickly but still gives you that light weight feel. You can use any 3/DK Weight yarn. Just make sure to do a gauge swatch to make sure your yarn selection will work for you.




Tester Reviews:


My testers have absolutely fallen in love with their Fairy Tale Tunic & how quickly it works up. So I have asked them to give their perspective of this design, pattern, & overall feelings on it. That way everyone can see how beautiful this design makes them look & feel. Nothing but body positivity here❤❤❤




Jenna of @jenbeth86


"This top is a great transitional piece! I used Mandala Ombre and a 6.5 mm hook. Due to the triple crochet stitches and hook size, this top works up really quickly. The length is easily customized to make a crop trop, tunic, or dress. The pattern is easy to follow and great for an adventurous beginner or intermediate crocheter. If you're looking for a fast make that will be a great addition to your wardrobe, you've found it!"





Stephanie of @Stephanie_beth


"Design is well written and easily altered to be flattering for all body shapes and sizes. I chose to go with a favorite yarn (Lion Brand Comfy Cotton Blend) as I love the way it works up and how comfy it is once worked into a piece. I plan to make another!"





Michelle of @Mtd1026


"Great pattern! This works up quickly with the triple stitches. Was able to get the gauge with a thin worsted weight yarn as well. Super cute!"






"Who doesn't love a no-sew sweater pattern?? The Fairy Tale Tunic is a great transition-season sweater that is nice and light. I made mine with Lion Brand Coboo and it is so soft and lovely feeling. The pattern was interesting while also easy to follow."





Lillie of @lilliephl


"Love it! I really like the little touches, such as the ends of the sleeves, the neckline, and the ties in the back that really lend to the namesake. The triple crochet works up quickly, but still offers coverage for the tunic to not be fully see through!"







"This tunic makes a great autum transition pullover, because the treble crochet stitches leave room for you to get just the right amount of breeze through! The pattern is easy to read, and doesn't have complicated stitches. I love how fast it works up, and you're wearing it before you know it. The V-neck and shoulder tie are such a nice touch for a pullover! I decided to go with the point for the sleeves, because I love the way it ties the whole tunic together. I used Lion Brand Comfy Cotton Blend in colorway Flower Gardens, and it was great yarn to work with for a pullover. Overall, this was a fun and cute piece to make! Highly recommend!!"






"The pattern is well written and clear. It is a beginner pattern with mainly repeats. I love that its a simple pattern yet the result is so amazing!"





"This patten is so wonderful! It's fairly easy to follow & available in numerous sizes. The finished product is wonderful & very flattering."





"Usually I don't follow written patterns because i find them difficult to follow but this was the exact opposite! The instructions are clear and detailed, just how I like it with pictures to help me along. The fit of the final piece was perfect! I love how the sleeves were fit and the body was slightly oversized. Very comfy ♥"





Sandra of @QueenKcrochet


"It was a little tricky in spots and you have to keep your count on point. But it is a beautiful pattern and a lovey sweater to wear.“





Doreen of @dwccrochet


"This is a great pattern to have the perfect fit in your tunic. Sleeves fit perfectly. Fun and fast to create. Very happy with the final results."






Kristen of @theyarnarts


"When I saw this tester call I knew it had to test it. I love fantasy, so seeing this fairy tunic made me so excited! I immediately knew I wanted sage, so I found a yarn that was the color I wanted. It met gauge for width, but was a bit short on height, so I knew I would have to add a little length. I ended up just needed 4 rows extra on the body and 2 for the sleeves. Blocking helped so much, so don't forget to do that This! This pattern works up so quick because of the treble crochet and is no-sew, which I loved! The design is so unique and gives me all the fairy vibes I could ever hope for!" 







"I enjoyed making it, love the shape and how it came together. I certainly needed to concerntrate to keep my stitch count right. i love the pointed sleeves but chose not to do them as I know I wear big sleeved items less and I want to make sure I wear this lots as I love it!"







"I love that the length is easy to customize. This pattern works up a lot faster than a typical long sleeve garment which is a huge plus."






"The pattern is easy to follow and were clarification is needed then you are very happy to provide further help. I love the uniqueness of the design in that a larger hook is used when producing the garment for a yarn weight that would normally call for a smaller hook. It love how the tunic works up so quickly."





Krisztina of @Ballayarn


"I'm 100% making one of these in every color. This pattern creates such a lovely piece that can be completely customized to the desired body length and arm length, which is an aspect I often find myself altering in other patterns. I created mine in a rainbow sparkle yarn (Mandala Sparkle in Crux), and the finished product is something I actually want to wear EVERYWHERE."







I hope you enjoy this pattern as much as I have creating it. Don’t forget to tag me when showing off your work by tagging me on Instagram or Facebook: using @therealjourneychaneldesigns with #FairyTaleTunic & #journeychaneldesigns, for your chance to be featured in my Stories & Possibly My Feed!! I just love seeing people in my designs. 😍😍 For any questions feel free to contact me at journeychaneldesigns@gmail.com Happy stitching, Anastasia



For more patterns & social media accounts see links below.


Social Media:




Store/ Crochet Patterns:





497 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page